Acções do Documento

II Pedro Hispano Lecture: Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem)

The II Pedro Hispano Lecture will be given by Staffan I. Lindberg, in which he will present the global research programme "Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem) - Global Standards, Local Knowledge". The lecture will take place on February 18, 17.00-18.00, at FCSH/NOVA (ID Building, 4th Floor, Room M2)

Staffan I. Lindberg is a Ph.D. (2005) from Lund University and Associate Professor at the Department of Political Science, University of Gothenburg. His doctoral dissertation won the American Political Science Association's Juan Linz Award for best dissertation in 2005, and his book Democracy and Elections in Africa (Johns Hopkins UP, 2006) was awarded "Outstanding Title" by Choice in 2007. He is currently Research Director for World Values Survey Sweden, Research Fellow at Quality of Government Institute, elected member of the International Political Science Association's Committee on Concepts and Methods, and co-Principal Investigator for the “Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem)” Research Programme. He has won several grants from both US and European funders and published extensively in the Journal of Politics, Political Science Quarterly, Electoral Studies and other leading journals.

Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem) is a global research programme that sets out to provide the first comprehensive theory of democratization accounting for seven core principles and values in the varieties of democracy in the world today: electoral, liberal, majoritarian, consensual, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian democracy. V-Dem breaks down its core principles into about 50 constituent components, which in turn comprise more than 300 carefully chosen indicators measuring the quality of democracy across core political and social institutions. The V-Dem Database will cover all countries of the world, annually from 1900 to the present, including pre-independence eras. The research programme is hosted by the Universities of Notre Dame (Kellogg Institute for International Studies) and Gothenburg (Department of Political Science). The research team is composed of scholars from over 30 universities around the world, including NOVA University of Lisbon.

Please register at until February 15.

2013-02-11 00:00
Topo da Página